Soapbox Moment

I’m on my soapbox tonight.  Forgive me, but I have to spew…

As I read this week’s BOW history over at http://grandmotherschoice.blogspot.com/ I can’t help but feel a slight correlation between today’s women and the women who marched in 1913. Over 5000 women (and men) from all over the world marched to the Treasury Building.  As they got closer to the building they were met with a rather large group of men who prevented them from reaching their destination.

…”Policemen refused to clear the path, siding with the mob.
Women were insulted, groped, and beaten. It was estimated that 300 were injured…” (taken from Barbara Brackman’s Grandmother’s Choice blog)

I have grown tired of these male politicians telling me what is right as a women.  And, where the line is for choice. Telling me how to feel about a rape, or incest, or life of the birthing mother. Or abortion.  I am pro-choice, in the hopes that you choose life.  But…

I think while men want to tell women what to do with their bodies, perhaps someone should tell them what to do with theirs.  I believe the sperm has to meet the egg.  Funny, how the part they play in these choices never comes up.

Okay, I’m done.  And, I apologize if I have offended anyone.  And it was never my intention to incite riotous emotions.  =)

8 thoughts on “Soapbox Moment

  1. I came here through your sister’s blog and just want to say that I absolutely agree with you. I’m going to forward this post to my two daughters who would also agree with you.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  2. You’re singing my song, Mary. I always say….”don’t tell me what to do with my body. That’s my decision.” And – I have no hesitation saying it. And, I won’t hide my opinion. Women (of all ages) need to continue to stand up and be heard. We may have won the vote but we are at risk of losing rights daily.

    (ok……I’ll step down from my soapbox now)

Leave a Reply

