Primitive Doll Making

I didn’t really have the cash to spend on the book.  And, I didn’t really need another craft book.  But this book caught my attention out of the corner of my eye.  It had the most amazing primitive doll on the cover.  I picked it up, glanced through it and put it in my basket.  I knew I didn’t really have the money to spend on the book, but I COULD NOT PUT IT BACK.  The book was securely in my clutches. I wanted that book.  And, I bought it.

IMG_1579

What I have learned from this book is that it isn’t just about steps.  Step one.  Step two…It’s about the journey, too.  Once I realized this, making dolls became so much easier for me.

I have always made dolls from someone else’s patterns; never being able to re-create that image.  Why?  Because it wasn’t my journey.  It was the doll artist’s journey.

I have had a great time making primitive dolls.  I will make more.  Here a few that I have made recently.  Two were shared with my sister.  Two have been sold.  And, two are for sale.  I will post again soon.

IMG_1465 IMG_1472 IMG_1505 IMG_1555 IMG_1627 IMG_1633

4 thoughts on “Primitive Doll Making

  1. How funny……I was going to write EXACTLY what Candy wrote! Welcome back, my friend. I LOVE your dolls – and your stories. Can’t wait to see more of them. And I’m SO glad the book made it out of the store with you.

Leave a Reply

