This Year Looking Back…

As this year comes to a close, I have many quilts ready to be quilted.  And I am longing for a long arm to get them done.  To be caught up. To start again…

I have been hanging around quiltville.blogspot.com for quite some time now.  I love Bonnie Hunter’s blog.  And, I love her scrappy quilts.  There is a feeling of freedom with them.  And, usefulness, too.  And, that suits me right now.

I have come to realize that my fabric stash is that of a “scrap” or “sampler” quilter.  I have very few pieces larger than a fat quarter.  I’m not complaining. I love my stash.  And, even find it difficult to cut into some of those fabrics.

I had hopes of doing more primitive crafting and quilting in 2012.  That barely materialized.  Why?  I cannot answer directly.  It just didn’t happen.

My immediate plans for 2013, will be to get those quilt tops quilted. And, to make Joey’s monkey quilt, Kate’s keepsake quilt and Anthony’s Star Wars quilt (all in process). That should keep me busy for a good 3 months or so.

And, in 2013, I want to make a quilt I made years ago. It is my favorite. It was fun to make and a great way to use up lots of scrap fabrics (about 1200 pieces in this quilt).  The quilt just feels so comfy.  And, I like that.

Blooming Steps

Blooming Steps

Beyond these projects, I don’t know what the new year will bring.

Happy New Year to everyone!  And, I hope your new year is filled with lots of quilting time!

4 thoughts on “This Year Looking Back…

  1. Scrappy quilts are my favorite – your stash would be perfect for me. Happy New Year to you and your family.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  2. You’re singing my song, Mary…..nothing like a scrappy quilt. My theory is the more fabrics the better. Can’t wait to see what you do with your scraps and bits and pieces in 2013.

    • I have many plans! lol Does it make sense to anyone that I am on a mission to use up my scraps so I just ordered 2 scrap bags of fabric? lol My sewing sister is to blame for that order. And, that’s what I will tell my husband, lol

Leave a Reply

